NHL all-stars

Posted on Jan. 18, 2003 by CPO in Latest Stamps
Canada Post is pleased to bring fans and collectors the fourth NHL All-Stars souvenir sheet of six domestic rate ($0.48) stamps. Commemorating the 2003 All-Star Game and events on February 1-2, 2003 in Florida, this set features six legendary hockey players: Bill Durnan, Raymond Bourque, Serge Savard, Stan Mikita, Mike Bossy, and Frank Mahovlich.

Bill Durnan
Toronto-born ambidextrous goaltender Bill Durnan had a long career as an amateur before he turned pro. He entered the NHL as a 27-year-old rookie with the Montréal Canadiens in 1943-44, and spent just seven years in the league. During that time, Durnan won the Vezina Trophy as the league's top goalie six times, was selected to the First All-Star Team on six occasions, and helped his team win the Stanley Cup title two times. Durnan, who trained himself to memorize the habits of the game's best players, set a modern NHL record in 1948-49 when he went unscored upon for 309 minutes and 21 seconds, including four shutout games. Durnan was inducted into the Hockey Hall of Fame in 1964.

Raymond Bourque
Five-time Norris Trophy winner Raymond Bourque is the only non-goaltender in NHL history to win the Calder Trophy as rookie of the year and earn a spot on the First All-Star Team in his first season in the league. From his 1979-80 start with the Boston Bruins, Bourque went on to earn selections to either the First or Second All-Star Team in each of his first 17 seasons. In all, he earned 19 All-Star selections including a record-breaking 13 to the First Team. Bourque spent most of his 22-year career with the Bruins, and is the club's all-time leader in assists (1,111) and points (1,506). He became the first defenceman to top 400 goals and led the Bruins in scoring five times, ranking consistently among top-scoring league defencemen throughout his career.

Serge Savard
During the 15 seasons Serge Savard played with the Montréal Canadiens, the team won eight Stanley Cup championships. With his agility and solid defensive skills, 'The Senator' was a key player in the team's success through the late 1960s and 1970s. Savard joined the Canadiens full time in 1967-68 and played for his first Stanley Cup winner that year, then became the first defenceman to win the Conn Smythe Trophy as playoff MVP when Montréal repeated as champions in 1969. During the 1970s, Savard helped the Canadiens win the Stanley Cup four times in a row, and in 1979, he won the Bill Masterton Trophy for his perseverance and dedication to hockey. After spending two seasons with the Winnipeg Jets, Savard was named managing director of the Canadiens in 1983. He was inducted into the Hockey Hall of Fame in 1986.

Stan Mikita
Tiny, talented and tough, Stan Mikita was one of the greatest players in NHL history over a 22-year career (1958-1980) with the Chicago Blackhawks. Upon retirement, Mikita ranked second all-time behind Gordie Howe with 926 assists, sixth in goals with 541, and third in points with 1,467. Not only was Mikita the 1963-64 winner of the Art Ross Trophy as the league's leading scorer, he was among the league leaders in penalty minutes. He resolved to clean up his play, and in 1966-67 became the first NHL player to win three major awards in one season: the Art Ross Trophy (scoring), the Hart Trophy (MVP), and the Lady Byng Trophy for sportsmanship. He repeated this feat the very next season. Mikita received the Lester Patrick Trophy in 1976 for his contributions to hockey in the U.S., and was inducted into the Hockey Hall of Fame in 1983.

Mike Bossy
The highest scorer in the history of Canadian junior hockey, Montréal native Mike Bossy was placed on the New York Islanders' top line as a rookie in 1977-78. He won the Calder Trophy after setting a rookie scoring record of 53 goals, and went on to score 50 goals for nine straight seasons. He was the first player in Islanders history to reach 500 goals and 1,000 points, and was a major factor in the team's four consecutive Stanley Cup wins from 1980 to 1983. Bossy won the Conn Smythe Trophy as playoff MVP in 1982 and the Lady Byng Trophy for sportsmanship in 1983, 1984 and 1986. For the first eight seasons of his career, he was selected as an NHL All-Star at right wing: five times to the First Team, and three times to the Second. Bossy was inducted into the Hockey Hall of Fame in 1991.

Frank Mahovlich
Six-time Stanley Cup champion Frank Mahovlich was hailed as a future superstar while still in junior hockey. He joined the Toronto Maple Leafs full time in 1957-58 and beat Bobby Hull to win the Calder Trophy for rookie of the year. Mahovlich was one of the greatest goal scorers in hockey, leading the Leafs in scoring every season between 1960-61 and 1965-66. He was the main offensive weapon on Leaf teams that won the Stanley Cup in '62, '63, '64 and '67, and he was named to either the First or the Second NHL All-Star Team a total of nine times. In March of 1968, Mahovlich was traded to the Detroit Red Wings, with whom he established his career high of 49 goals in 1968-69. Come 1971, he was traded to the Montréal Canadiens, where he was a key part of two Stanley Cup wins. Mahovlich was inducted into the Hockey Hall of Fame in 1981.

About the Stamps' Design
The 2003 NHL All-Stars stamp set was designed by Stéphane Huot of Montréal, assisted by illustrator Charles Vinh and computer artist Pierre Rousseau. As with previous NHL stamp sheets, each player is shown in an action shot and in a formal portrait as part of the selvedge. New this year, we have produced a self-adhesive booklet panel of 6 designs.

Stamp Specifications

  • Denomination: 6 x 48 ¢
  • Design: Stéphane Huot
  • Dimensions: 40 mm x 40 mm
  • Illustration: Charles Vinh, Pierre Rousseau
  • Printer: Canadian Bank Note
  • Printing Process: Lithography in 7 colours
  • Tagging: General, 4 sides
Shop Now
  • Product #: 113531
  • Layout: Booklet panel of 6 stamps
  • Price: $2.88
  • Gum Type: Pressure-sensitive
  • Paper Type: JAC
  • Perforations: Simulated
  • Quantity: 3,621,000
Shop Now
Shop Now